usa travel ban donald trump news
/Google Maps

USA travel ban: Donald Trump has overseen new restrictions on seven countries

The President, Donald Trump, unveiled his updated travel ban yesterday.

Seven countries will face new restrictions as they attempt to enter the USA thanks to the new proclamation signed by the President.

Tweeting about the update, Trump wrote: “Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.”

New rules will come into effect on October 18 – so which countries are affected?

Citizens of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen will need to be aware of new restrictions placed on them when entering the US in future.

The majority of citizens from these countries will be indefinitely banned from entering the US.

Venezuela was also added to the list, but a suspension of non-immigrant visas to its citizens applies only to senior government officials and their immediate families.

Iraqi citizens will not be subject to travel prohibitions but will face enhanced scrutiny or vetting.

usa travel ban donald trump news

USA travel ban: North Korea and its citizens face new restrictions on travelling to the USA

North Korea does not cooperate with the United States government in any respect and fails to satisfy all information-sharing requirements

Department of Homeland Security

The announcement from Donald Trump came on the same day as his temporary ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries expired, 90 days after it went into effect.

That ban had barred citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen who lacked a “credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States” from entering the US. Restrictions on citizens from Sudan were lifted.

The proclamation read: “As President, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people.”

Explaining why North Korea had been added to the newer list, the proclamation read: “North Korea does not cooperate with the United States government in any respect and fails to satisfy all information-sharing requirements.”

usa travel ban donald trump newsTwitter/POTUS

USA travel ban: Donald Trump tweeted to share news of the latest restrictions

usa travel ban donald trump news

USA travel ban: Donald Trump’s previous ban caused widespread protests in America

An administration official acknowledged during a conference call with reporters that the number of North Koreans travelling to the US was very low.

Officials were also quick to stress valid visas would not be revoked as a result of the proclamation. The order does also permit, but does not guarantee, case-by-case waivers.

The restrictions are targeted at countries that Department of Homeland Security officials say refuse to share information with the US or haven’t taken necessary security precautions.

Miles Taylor, counselor to acting Homeland Security Secretary Elaine Duke, said on Friday: “The acting secretary has recommended actions that are tough and that are tailored, including restrictions and enhanced screening for certain countries.”

The restrictions are based on a new baseline developed by DHS which includes factors such as whether countries issue electronic passports with biometric information and share information about travellers’ terror-related and criminal histories.

The US then shared those benchmarks with every country in the world and gave them 50 days to comply. The eight countries are those that refused or were unable to comply.

News Source

error: Content is protected !!